The MCODS chapter of Student Research Forum held its first annual scientific meet and inter-collegiate poster competition, SRF RISE 2016 on 19th October, commemorating a year of its inception. The event was held at TMA Pai Hall and had two segments. The morning session comprised of lectures by three esteemed guests. The afternoon session had a poster presentation competition with the theme ‘In this day and age…’ which was open to all students of Manipal University. The chief guest for the event was the Vice Chancellor of Manipal University, Dr H Vinod Bhat. Other guests of honour were Dr N Udupa, Research Director (Health Sciences) and Dr Satish Shenoy, Research Director (Technical Sciences). Dr Poornima Baliga, Dean – KMC Manipal, Dr Rajshekhar, Dean – SOAHS, Dr Nirmala N Rao, Dean – MCODS Manipal and the Associate Deans, Dr Aparna IN and Dr G Subraya Bhat, of MCODS, Manipal were also present.

The inaugural ceremony started with the beautiful rendition of an invocation by Swagata Saha followed by the lighting of the lamp. Dr H Vinod Bhat then addressed the gathering and sensitized them to the importance and scope of student research. Neha Nambiar, President, MCODS SRF 2015-16 then proceeded to invest the new SRF board for 2016-17. The inaugural ceremony wrapped up with a vote of thanks by Akanksha Roy, President, MCODS SRF 2016-17.

The first lecture of the morning session was by Dr Joseph Thomas, Professor, Department of Urology, KMC Manipal and Head of Centre for Bioethics. He spoke about the various ethical challenges in student research, and spread awareness about the universal principles of bioethics and various codes for ethical conduct of research. He also addressed the various common doubts which students face while starting off with research such as how to select mentors, how to fund their research etc.


The second lecture by Dr Narasimha B Bhat, CEO, Manipal Dot Net Pvt Ltd titled ‘Innovation in Your Backyard’ was very captivating. He spoke about basic skills and requirements for successfully carrying out research. He also spoke about the various innovations his company has come up with which solve very basic everyday problems but make a big difference in the long run. With the festival of lights, Diwali around the corner, he spoke about the pollution and waste created by fireworks and his simple solution  for this problem – instead of fireworks, drones can be used to create a show of lights without causing pollution.


The last lecture by Dr Srikanth Prabhu of MIT was about Information Technology for the Health Sector, the importance of bridging the gap being the focus of his talk. He spoke about the various health threats, problems faced in health care and how they may be solved with the integration of information technology. He also demonstrated how biometrics work by using face, fingerprint and retina identification. This was followed by a presentation by 4 students, 2 from KMC and 2 from MIT, mentored by Dr Srikanth Prabhu who participated and won the first place in #Hackabout 2016 organized by Philips in association with Manipal University. The topic was ‘Amlodipine induced Pedal Edema’ and they had integrated information technology with medical know-how to solve the problem posed to them.


The second half of RISE 2016 started with the undergraduate researchers competing against each other in a poster presentation competition. Topics ranged from “Diagnosis of head and neck cancer using PET/CT scan” to “Automatic detection of macula and optic discs”. The teams constituted of one to two members each and saw large scale participation from MCODS, KMC and MIT. The posters were divided into Health Sciences and Technical Sciences category and were judged by Dr. G Subraya Bhat, Dr. Raghu R. and Dr. Keerthilatha M. Pai.


WINNERS (health sciences)-

1st prize: Keerat Kukreja, Supriya Bhatara

2nd prize: Shradha Bhutoria, Manan Arora

3rd prize: Anoopshaji


Consolation prizes

1st consolation: Meenakshi Ray

2nd consolation: Prabhjeet Singh

3rd consolation: Akshay Mohan, Jonathan Koshy


WINNERS (Technical Sciences)-

1st prize: Atishay (MIT)

Consolation prize- Debanjan Panja



Leave a Reply