Genesis 2022-23

The much awaited Annual Student Council Inaugural event of MAHE Association Pharmacy Students (MAPS), GENESIS – 2022-23, was held on September 14th, 2022, at TMA Pai Halls, MAHE, Manipal.

Dr Guruprasad Rao, Deputy Registrar of Academics (Health Sciences), MAHE, Manipal, and Professor/Coordinator, Division of Biochemistry, Department of Basic Medical Sciences, was the Chief Guest of the event. 

The ceremony began with the lighting of the lamp by the esteemed Chief guest Dr Guruprasad Rao, Principal Dr C Mallikarjuna Rao, Vice-principal Dr Krishnamurthy Bhat, and Secretary-MAPS Dr Jayesh Mudgal. As mentioned by the master of ceremony, Light is a symbol of brightness and prosperity as sunlight expels the darkness and brings in our life and happiness. Parvathy Madhu of I-PharmD followed with a pleasant invocation song, which captivated the audience.

The chief guest subsequently instructed the gathering on the necessity of student government. In his talk, he stated that a real leader accepts slightly more than his fair portion of the responsibility and slightly less than his fair part of the honour. He proceeded to award the freshly elected student council their badges and diplomas, establishing a sense of responsibility in them. President Abhijay Ahuja, Vice President Akanksha, and General Secretary Shradanjali Ghosh were officially appointed as the student council for 2022-23.


All the other executive roles were announced subsequently. Secretary Shruti Chaudhary and Joint Secretaries Jayshree V and John Patani lead the academic council. Ajinkya Nikam was named the president of the Innovative Communication Club. Ayushi Datta, Secretary, and Mangesh Kumar and Shreya Gantayet, Joint Secretaries, lead the Sports Council. Aarthika Srinivasan serves as this year’s Chief Editor. The photography club is led by Clive Winston D’Souza, with deputy leaders Akhil and Rajeswari Subramanian on the editorial board. The Community Development Committee is directed by Secretary Saad Khan and Joint Secretary Vani Nayak. Secretary Akhil and Joint Secretary Stuti Khatuka head the student exchange committee. Finally, Secretary Anshuman Shettigar chairs the Cultural Council, with joint secretaries Madhuja Sen and Mandar B Rao.

Dr C Mallikarjuna Rao, Principal, MCOPS, made insightful comments after awarding seats to the core council members and pushed the student body to return bigger and stronger after the 2-year pause created by the arrival of Covid 19. Following that, Dr. Krishnamurthy Bhat, Vice-principal, discussed the significance of balancing academics with recreational activities.

Finally, Abhijay Ahuja, Student Council President, committed to empower the student community until every ounce of their potential was used. He revealed some of his presidential plans for the year.

The General Secretary described the significance, role, and vision of each council. The ceremonial celebration concluded with a statement by Vice President Akanksha, who suggested the vote of gratitude. Rishi Bhat and Aleena Ann Jose served as masters of ceremonies for the event.

The informal evening featured a variety of talents ranging from singing to dancing to dramatics. Dance acts were fascinating, and vocal performances enraptured the crowd. Everyone was in stitches after the fantastic skit. At the end of the fourth years’ dance, the audience joined the floor to rejoice. The event concluded on a cheerful note with everyone dancing in happiness.


Written by Aarthika Srinivasan for MTTN

Pictures by Aromal Sunil for MTTN

Edited by Ishita Sharma for MTTN 

Leave a Reply

Proudly powered by WordPress | Theme: Baskerville 2 by Anders Noren.

Up ↑